Latest News

NRCS announces application cutoff dates for special Illinois initiatives


Illinois State Conservationist Ivan Dozier announced the U. S. Department of Agriculture- Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) will offer funding for the following special Conservation Initiatives throughout the state: Mississippi River Basin Healthy Watersheds Initiative (MRBI), National Water Quality Initiative (NWQI), and the Monarch Butterfly Project (Monarch).  Producers who have agricultural, pasture, or forest land located in a defined initiative project area (see box below) can apply for assistance through the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP). Using EQIP’s technical and financial assistance, producers can install a variety of conservation practices that improve water quality, decrease soil erosion, and enhance wildlife habitat. 

To compete for funds in one (or more) of these initiative project areas, producers must complete and submit an application by one of two cutoff dates, January 19 and March 16, 2018.  NRCS reminds producers they can apply for regular EQIP financial assistance at any time throughout the year, as NRCS accepts applications on a continuous basis.

Contact your local NRCS field office to obtain more details about a specific initiative and to see if your land is located in one of the project areas.  Learn more about NRCS’ programs and services in Illinois online at

The following is a list of Initiatives including the counties and watersheds where Fiscal Year 2018 funding is available:


Clinton Lake – Portions of DeWitt, McLean, and Piatt Counties

Crow Creek West/Clear Creek – Portions of Bureau, LaSalle, Marshall, Putnam, and Stark Counties

Upper Macoupin Creek – Portions of Macoupin County

Vermilion Headwaters – Portions of Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, and McLean Counties


Douglas Creek Watershed – Portions of St. Clair County

Crooked Creek-Bon Pas Watershed – Portions of Richland, Wabash, Edwards, and Lawrence Counties

Lake Vermilion Watershed – Portions of Vermilion County

Lake De Revey Watershed Portions of Vermilion County

Painter Creek Watershed Portions of Vermilion County

Lake Bloomington – Money Creek Watershed – Portions of McLean County

Blue Mound – Money Creek Watershed – Portions of McLean County


Available in all Illinois Counties.